Back to topOversight icon

The NPR Board of Directors governs the PRSS. The Distribution/Interconnection (D/I) Committee of the Board is charged with proposing rates and policy to the Board and overseeing the operation of the satellite system. The composition of the D/I Committee is unique, consisting of both Board and non-Board members.

The presence of the non-Board members on the Committee reflects NPR Distribution's role as manager of an interconnection system which serves all public telecommunications entities needing satellite distribution services, including public radio stations, program producers, and other organizations not affiliated with NPR. The non-Board members of the D/I Committee are elected by the NPR Board and confirmed by the interconnected stations.

The D/I Committee meets during the meetings of the NPR Board, usually four times a year -- generally in February, May, September, and November. The agendas for the D/I Committee meetings will be posted at least seven (7) days in advance, with the time and location of the meeting on the NPR web site: http://www.npr.org/about-npr/182677290/meetings-of-the-npr-board. The regular meetings of the NPR Board and its committees are open to the public, although some portions of those meetings may be held in closed executive session. For more details about when the NPR Board and its committee may move into executive session, this information is provided: http://www.npr.org/about-npr/182677290/meetings-of-the-npr-board

All users of the PRSS are encouraged to share their views on system issues with the D/I Committee.

NPR Board Members

Non-Board Members

Caryn Mathes, D/I Committee Chair
General Manager
KUOW Puget Sound Public Radio
4518 University Way NE, Suite 310
Seattle, WA  98105
Phone: 206.543.2710

KUOW serves communities in the Puget Sound region, Western Washington and Southern British Columbia. The station is licensed to the University of Washington, which is assisted in its operation and management by KUOW Puget Sound Public Radio, a private, non–profit corporation established in 1999 and governed by a community board.

Ralph Hogan
Director of Engineering
KJZZ/KBAQ/Sun Sounds
2323 W.14th Street
Tempe, AZ  85281
Phone: 480.774.8225

KJZZ-FM, located at Rio Salado Community College in Tempe, Arizona, serves the entire Phoenix-metro area. The station provides listeners with 24 daily hours of news, information, and music. Sister station KBAQ-FM, also located in Tempe and operated jointly by Rio Salado Community College and Arizona State University, provides the Phoenix area with classical music around the clock.

Connie Walker, D/I Committee Vice Chair
President & General Manager
North Carolina Public Radio - WUNC
120 Friday Center Drive
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone: 919.445.9170

North Carolina Public Radio - WUNC is operated by the University of North Carolina, and serves the Chapel Hill/Raleigh/Durham area on 91.5 FM, Rocky Mount on 90.9 FM and Manteo on 88.9 FM.

Sally Kane
National Federation of Community Broadcasters
P.O. Box 16
1308 Clear Fork Road
Crawford, CO 81415
Phone: 970.279.3411

The National Federation of Community Broadcasters (NFCB) is a national alliance of stations, producers, and others committed to community radio.

Paul G. Haaga, Jr.
Chairman of the Board, Retired, Capital Research and Management Company

Mr. Haaga retired from Capital Research and Management Company in 2012 and served as acting CEO of NPR from 2013 to 2014.


Nick Kereakos
Vice President, Technology & Operations
American Public Media
480 Cedar Street
St. Paul, MN 55101
Phone: 651.290.1336

American Public Media is the largest owner and operator of public radio stations in the nation, and is a leading producer and distributor of public radio programming.

Greg Petrowich
Executive Director
WSIU Public Broadcasting
Mail Code 6602

Southern Illinois University - Carbondale
Carbondale, IL  62901
Phone: 618.453.6181

Licensed to the Board of Trustees of Southern Illinois University, WSIU Public Broadcasting is part of the College of Mass Communication & Media Arts on the Carbondale campus. The WSIU stations serve more than three million people across five states and beyond through three digital television channels, three radio stations, an HD radio channel, a website, local production units, and an education and community outreach department.

Bari Scott
Executive Director
Sound Vision Productions
2991 Shatruck Avenue
Suite 304
Berkeley, CA  94705-1872
Phone: 510.486.1185

Established in 1995, SoundVision Productions is dedicated to bringing compelling stories to public radio listeners. SoundVision's radio features and documentaries have been recognized for excellence with numerous awards, including two Peabody awards.

Mike Savage
General Manager
Purdue University
712 Third Street
West Lafayette, IN  47907-2005
Phone: 765.494.5920

WBAA is owned and operated by Purdue University and serves North Central Indiana on AM 920, Classical/News on 101.3 FM and Jazz on 101.3 FM HD2.